Exploring bridgespam (Pekka bridgespam)

Soul Crusher

• Administrators

Before I start off this post, I would like to mention that I'm not a pro player and I'm not an expert at Clash Royale. I'm just the average player sitting at 6k to 6.3k every season.

In this post, I will not be talking about the history of bridgespam but what it is as an archetype and how it is played.

So what is bridgespam?

Bridgespam as an archetype is a hybrid between beatdown and control. It involves capitalising elixir advantages AND being able to overpower through your opponent's defenses.

Each bridgespam deck has its own beatdown and control scale. It can lean more towards a beatdown aspect or a control playstyle.

But in this post, I will be focusing on pekka bridgespam (I will not be talking about other match ups specifically besides mirror match ups).

Pekka bridgespam is a bridgespam deck that leans more towards a beatdown aspect compared to most other bridgespam decks. It can be played as either a beatdown deck or a control deck and it mostly relies on winning one to one interactions.

When do you play it like a beatdown deck?

This playstyle is recommended when playing against a control deck (like miner, log bait and hog). Playing pekka bridgespam as a beatdown deck involves placing the pekka behind the king tower to mount up a push. Before you do this, you need to make sure your opponent's primary win condition is out of cycle. You support the pekka with either ewiz or magic archer (Magic archer is more recommended against decks that have a ton of swarm or a building). Once the pekka reaches the bridge and the opponent has deprived themselves of elixir, you rush the opposite lane with battle ram and royal ghost/bandit. Alternatively, bandit can also be used to support the pekka.

It is recommended to take out their tower in single elixir because they'll need more time to place down a troop when they're down in elixir.

When do you play it as a control deck?