reddit Clan Wars 2 Review by SW Engineer & Game Dev.

• Administrators

Although this is an opinion like any other, sometimes it is interesting to indicate the background on who you are. I am a software engineer. Some time ago I dedicated myself professionally to game development, but now it is “just a hobby”. Also, changes often bring premature complaints and, as developer, I don't like to complain unless I think it's necessary like now.

The business model of mobile games is usually based on the Desperation of the player. That's right and that's how it works at Clash Royale. You have a very fast growth and little by little everything goes much slower, until the player decides to pay or leave the game. This is just the main stereotype of a mobile gamer. In exchange for this player’s effort, the player who continues playing gets some kind of Fun. On the other hand, the glory peak of CR happened time ago and the game may have already been relegated to a C or D development team and its management would be a bit neglected. This is also normal, no complains.

However, this doesn’t have to lead to bad decisions. Not necessarily. I have commented the 2 main ingredients of this type of games: Despair and fun.

• Desperation curve. At this point in the CR life cycle, it is normal to be very aggressive with this point and "require" 32 maxed cards. It makes perfect sense, because the current target of the game is no longer so much to attract new players, but to focus on the great majority of players who have a great amount of cards at level 11 and 12. It will affect new and low-level players, but this will be addressed by SuperCell later.